Studio 3 – Week 5, 6 and 7

Week 5 :

I played around with the colour key a little bit and I found that to my surprise I preferred the idea of turning it into a night scene

Colour Key.png

Snow (2).png

I ended up returning to Blue, it looked Kinda of strange without blue, i settled with orange as it’s a complimentary colour but i personally don’t like orange very much so I pretty much abandoned it straight away.

 

Man was getting the right composition to work in 3D tricky or what? Ended up making it a bit hacky but I’m happy with the result.

good box.png

 

After I had that done and rendered out it was time to start the paint over. Initially I covered over the 3D blockout entirely but painting each of those trees was taking some time, and if I were to replicate the angles/orientation of each tree then I’d have to paint them individually. Thanks Katie.

Not sold on Pink either… and I freaking hate that rock!!

old shit.png

 

Week 6 :

After Years of redrawing and concepting I finally had a rock that worked more or less for the base. Katie helped create a super dynamic Blizzard around the Crystal which looks so awesome and is just absolutely perfect I had to keep it!

PaintOver_0.5.png

 

Week 7 :

Finally the whole thing is done! I’ve painted over the character and fixed the rock, I touched up the Lake and the River, added some blue lighting to the blizzard and washed out the roots a bit.

PaintOver_0.7.png

It’s not perfect but I think it’s pretty damn good, given more time I’d paint over the crystal again to give more detail and less pixely and redo the lake and river again to give them more texture and add snow around the scene.

Snow Effect tutorial:

 

Title Effect tutorial:

 

Just a helpful little resource I used as a refresher when working between the two programs:

 

In After Effects using Red Giant’s Particular plug-in I created a basic Snow system and the title effect which I think looks awesome however needs some work.

A different font for sure, I want a slight change to the snow, obviously the smoke isn’t moving at all so that kinda ruins it, and the crystal needs some life so perhaps some bobbing and light pulsing.

 

Smoke Effect tutorial:

 

Downloaded an awesome font from dafont.com which works soooo much better, using a tutorial I created the smoke effect and I added a CC Light Rays effect over the crystal. I also played around with the snow parameters quite a bit to change a few extremely minor issues that probably only I would notice buuttt I’m probably the only one that will really have to look at this afterwards so y’know.

 

Final:

 

 

 

 

Toggl

 

Week 5: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1C8RahX7irI2X0jqBsrFVV7CERGNqXvLQ

 

Week 6: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NeqS2ZTKNE0gy9kr4ygFeVHxJ24KFS27

 

Week 7: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lBYV-BFSIr9mXRCL_yiyPu8dHTJpaWI5

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑