Journal – Week Two

This week I was able to put allot of puzzle pieces together, I completely changed my direction with my specialization, I finished my Bootcamp project, we found out our groups and we got started.

What have I made this week?

Monday- I began to develop a few different characters for my personal body of work, each with different personality traits and experiences, however after reading them over a few times something was missing, none of them were even close to developed enough. I realized two of the characters, The General and Lancelot, could very well be the same character at different points in time. However If this new character were to be the main protagonist then there’s nothing really unique to them, so I mixed another character into the hybrid, The outcast/Half Demon, perfect! I rewrote the backstory accordingly and I was just so pleased, the character now had a traumatic experience and motivation, and while being at odds with the antagonist he was essentially in the same boat as him forcing more conflict to naturally arise.

Hero Concept Link:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=168fUtN3PiPa9muUVV-6NzKdo05b6vhBU_MfTGV5F5gA

 

Later on I wanted to attempt making a 3D model of a Demon, with the End goal of creating a semi transparent, oily looking texture and a Dark, smokey particle effect. I’d also like to animate it idly twitching around.

3D Demon.png

Untitled-1.png

 

Tuesday- I completed my Bootcamp and recorded a walk through of the Map; there’s also an Exe file in the link below if you’d like to have a go at playing yourself.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1H4dxeWyPTsExAY4dILsnhspzGsz0gxIV = EXE file

 

Also on Tuesday is when I drew yet another Demon (I love these things) in a very dynamic pose reaching toward you, at some point I want to take it into Photoshop and polish it off like the last one but that’ll have to wait a little while.

IMG_2942.JPG

 

Wednesday/Thursday- We found out our groups and got to work making concept art and different layout designs for our environment; ours being a castle or wizard’s tower.

Castle Study Concept_01.png

Study room/Bedroom

Castle thing_02.png

Main hall/Library

 

Layout_01.png

Dungeon Layout.png

Layout_Castle.png

Layout concepts

 

Friday- I scrapped my Specialization and restarted it and now I’m genuinely motivated to do it! My original idea was to create a 3D city based off my concept for my personal body of work, however I was equally motivated to change it to a fight scene, 3D character, or just about anything else, I wanted to do it all. However separating my Specialization from my personal work was extremely necessary, now I have no overlapping ideas. My new idea is still to create a 3D Environment, but it will be a literal Mind-map, an interpretation of my Mind, exploring major focuses and different Ideas I’ve had, this will come with the interesting challenge of turning the way in which I think, into a physical object; Metaphors could be a good work around.

IMG_2944.JPG

img_29431.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday- I came up with a concept for our monster in the Aftermath Project, a Werewolf. I also gathered images together to reference for our Hero assets.

Werewolf.png

 

Hero Asset References.png

 

Sunday- I created a test room for my Specialization project, it took me a bit of math and a couple of tries to get it right but I got there in the end; after all the bigger the better right?

Hub Concept.png

 

 

What have I learned this week?

I’ve learned a few new things this week but I mostly implemented the things that I learned last week and tried to become more efficient at them. I learned how to create and use VFX in Unreal Engine and how Lighting works. I also learned a new style of concept art that I’m really enjoying and how to use some new Brushes in Photoshop. Finally I learned the basics of Player Scale and World Dimensions.

 

Resources you have found or used

 

A new Photoshop brush set and art style I’d like to use for concept art

step tutorial and brushes by wlop

(Ling, 2013)

UE4: Guide to Player Scale

(WorldofLevelDesign, 2015)

 

Toggl Report

 

Link to report: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1wZb45oeFkI-CoIaCEgUZIahxdYN6ckyT

 

 

 

References:

Ling, W. (2013). step tutorial and brushesDeviantArt. Retrieved 13 February 2018, from https://wlop.deviantart.com/art/step-tutorial-and-brushes-362838799

WorldofLevelDesign. (2015). UE4: Guide to Player Scale and World/Architecture Dimensions Tutorial. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPcHUqA0DR8

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑